A check for URL address spoofing

Firefox, Thunderbird, SeaMonkey, Camino, Mozilla, Netscape 6/7/8/9, and all Gecko-based browsers discussion and support forum.
(MozInfo701, Netscape Browser Archive)

Moderators: Antony, Edward, profman, Ramona

A check for URL address spoofing

Postby profman » Mon 24 May, 2004 8:04 pm

A recent thread, Re: Spoofstick for Mozilla?, in the netscape.mozilla.user.win32 newsgroup discussed how to determine if a link really goes to where it is suppose to. The practice, PHISHING, is where you are sent to page that looks like an official site, but the site really is just designed to steal personal data.

Mozilla already shows the real URL in the Status Bar at the bottom, but "hb" offers a fairly neat way of checking. He states:

Create a bookmark named VERIFY URL. Put this in its "location" box...

Code: Select all
javascript:alert(%22The real URL is: %22 + location.protocol + %22//%22 + location.hostname + %22/%22 + %22\nThe address URL is: %22 + location.href + %22\n%22 + %22If the server names do not match, this may be a spoof.%22);



I straightened out the code which had wrapped in the original newsgroup post. It looks wrapped above, but seems to paste in just fine.

I tried it, and it seems to work.
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.6) Gecko/20040113
profman, the mad chemist
Moderator of SillyDog Forums
User of Thunderbird 2.0.0.x & Firefox 3.x
Try Forum Search
User avatar
profman
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1528
Joined: Wed 11 Sep, 2002 8:00 pm

Postby Antony » Mon 24 May, 2004 11:29 pm

Thanks profman.
And I am here to confirm that it works with Safari!
Image

Related issues...
There are a few other ways to detect if the actual page is located as where the URL bar. Context click (*) on the page, and try to get the view source. If there view source has the frame structure, you will need to worry about it.

Also, when clicking a link from emails, be very carefully about the structure of that link...
Many scam websites hide their URLs in following format....
http://www.paypal.com:randomstring@123.123.123.123/
Where they fake to be PayPal, and the actual URL is 123.123.123.123
The format was:
http://user:pass@url.com/


(*) Commonly known as right-click.
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; PPC Mac OS X; en) AppleWebKit/124 (KHTML, like Gecko) Safari/125.1
User avatar
Antony
diamond member
diamond member
 
Posts: 14509
Joined: Tue 18 Jun, 2002 11:36 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Postby profman » Tue 25 May, 2004 12:10 am

Antony: Thanks for those good comments!

Everyone should be aware of these deceptive methods of fooling people into divulging personal or financial information.

Here are a couple links on "phishing", although you can do your own Google search to find much more.

FTC Consumer Alert: How Not to Get Hooked by a 'Phishing' Scam

CNET News.com: U.S. hit by rise in 'phishing' attacks
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.6) Gecko/20040113
profman, the mad chemist
Moderator of SillyDog Forums
User of Thunderbird 2.0.0.x & Firefox 3.x
Try Forum Search
User avatar
profman
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1528
Joined: Wed 11 Sep, 2002 8:00 pm

Postby Antony » Tue 25 May, 2004 11:57 am

slightly off topic,
Those look-alike "phishing" things also appear to be on the emails as well...

Image

Looks like a link you should click?

But when you check the source code...
It's not the link as it look like to be, but a link to run the attached virus.
Image

the virus?
Image

Suggestion, verify before you click.
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; PPC Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/124 (KHTML, like Gecko) Safari/125.1
User avatar
Antony
diamond member
diamond member
 
Posts: 14509
Joined: Tue 18 Jun, 2002 11:36 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Postby Antony » Mon 19 Jul, 2004 10:10 am

Today, I received one fake email said from eBay.com <aw-confirm@ebay.com> (the email was sent from IP address 218.154.70.10) with title "Your account at eBay has been suspended".

Without a thought, I knew it was a fake and wanting to steal my data.

So I decided to investigate it.

Image

The email asked me to click
http://signin.ebay.com/aw-cgi/eBayISAPI.dll?Verify
But if I click that the actual link I click would be
[tt]http://signin_ebay_com_account.rndsystems.co.kr:7308/ebay.htm[/tt]
BINGO!

Image

The real website is rndsystems.co.kr with subdomain signin_ebay_com_account and using an unusual port number 7308. (the usual web pages use port 80)

You can read my further investigating of that website.

I recommend all users check the raw source of any questionable emails.
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; PPC Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/125.2 (KHTML, like Gecko) Safari/125.8
Last edited by Antony on Sat 24 Jul, 2004 11:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Antony
diamond member
diamond member
 
Posts: 14509
Joined: Tue 18 Jun, 2002 11:36 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Postby Fulvio » Mon 19 Jul, 2004 11:18 am

"It's not the link as it look like to be, but a link to run the attached virus."

I got one, exactly like that, yesterday. I clicked Junk on it, without knowing about profman's post. It looked phishy.
Thanks to both of you.
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.7.1) Gecko/20040707
A minority may be right, and a majority is always wrong
~ Henrik Ibsen
WinXP, SP3, 512 MB, SM2.9.1, FF12, TB12.0.1, IE8.0, Google Chrome18, Ghostwall , Avast 7.x, JRE1.7_04. Testing FF13b3
User avatar
Fulvio
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 11914
Joined: Wed 19 Jun, 2002 10:08 am

Postby djv1 » Mon 19 Jul, 2004 12:22 pm

Spoofstick also works on firefox 0.9.1, as you can see in lime green on the top left

Image


BTW.- nice aviator pic Fulvio
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.7) Gecko/20040626 Firefox/0.9.1
Dustin
User avatar
djv1
diamond member
diamond member
 
Posts: 1166
Joined: Wed 14 Jan, 2004 6:02 pm

Postby Antony » Sat 24 Jul, 2004 10:52 pm

Just received another email from the same sender IP:218.154.70.10,

Image

The problem... I don't have a Neteller account.

[tt]http://www_neteller_com.Kk21.CO.KR:7308/neteller.htm[/tt]
Their eBay phishing page appears to be closed. They've got enough credit card numbers?

More in AntBlog701.
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; PPC Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/125.2 (KHTML, like Gecko) Safari/125.8
User avatar
Antony
diamond member
diamond member
 
Posts: 14509
Joined: Tue 18 Jun, 2002 11:36 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Postby Wellander » Sat 24 Jul, 2004 11:12 pm

Hi,
I think that stealing is against the law.
Is it not?
I think it is.
Why do websites do that?
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.0; en-US; rv:1.8a2) Gecko/20040714
Wellander
diamond member
diamond member
 
Posts: 2603
Joined: Mon 21 Oct, 2002 6:37 pm

Postby geffr » Sun 25 Jul, 2004 1:43 am

The "bookmark" works great in Firefox, THANK YOU!! I get these "phishing" emails daily & have for several months. They don't worry me, but i suspect there will soon be a new generation of more effective spoofs.

If only the US credit card companies would stop accepting payments for these "people" & the spammers..................

I see the above as the only long term solution to spam. Good luck getting the corporations to ssacrifice a few pennies, though.

Geff
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Win98; en-US; rv:1.7) Gecko/20040707 Firefox/0.9.2
User avatar
geffr
silver member
silver member
 
Posts: 241
Joined: Sun 07 Mar, 2004 7:24 am

Flaw in spoof checker

Postby angrytuna » Wed 09 Feb, 2005 2:15 pm

There is a new demonstrable spoof that works in Mozilla browsers, among others. The javascript checker above does not work with this new spoof. For details, see http://www.netsquirrel.com/articles/mozilla_spoofing.html, and try the fix on the page they link to.
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (X11; U; Linux i686; rv:1.7.3) Gecko/20041001 Firefox/0.10.1
angrytuna
new member
new member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed 09 Feb, 2005 2:09 pm

Re: Flaw in spoof checker

Postby Antony » Wed 09 Feb, 2005 6:38 pm

angrytuna wrote:There is a new demonstrable spoof that works in Mozilla browsers, among others. The javascript checker above does not work with this new spoof. For details, see http://www.netsquirrel.com/articles/mozilla_spoofing.html, and try the fix on the page they link to.

The JavaScript check provided does work!

Image

The demonstrated page is actually same as [sdt=8260]"IDN" Spoofing Security Issue in FF,Moz,NS7,Safari[/sdt] posted by J-M.
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; PPC Mac OS X; en) AppleWebKit/125.5.6 (KHTML, like Gecko) Safari/125.12
User avatar
Antony
diamond member
diamond member
 
Posts: 14509
Joined: Tue 18 Jun, 2002 11:36 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Postby Al » Wed 09 Feb, 2005 6:48 pm

It does not work on Mozilla Firefox
Image
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Win98; en-US; rv:1.7.5) Gecko/20041108 Firefox/1.0
User of Firefox :ff: 3.0 on Windows XP
User avatar
Al
diamond member
diamond member
 
Posts: 1694
Joined: Fri 20 Dec, 2002 1:08 pm

Postby Antony » Fri 21 Oct, 2005 11:19 pm

A new way to detect phishing emails (links),

Move the mouse cursor over the link, and wait for revealing the actual URL (if different to what it appeared on the HTML based mail)

Image

Next thing to do is to forward the received phishing email to [tt]spoof@ebay.com[/tt] or [tt]spoof@paypal.com[/tt] and help other people not to get scammed.
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; PPC Mac OS X; en) AppleWebKit/412.7 (KHTML, like Gecko) Safari/412.5
User avatar
Antony
diamond member
diamond member
 
Posts: 14509
Joined: Tue 18 Jun, 2002 11:36 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia


Return to Firefox, SeaMonkey and Netscape

Who is online

Registered users: Google [Bot], MSNbot Media