http://www.clearoutclub.com
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.7.5) Gecko/20041107 Firefox/1.0
Moderators: Edward, profman, Mandrake

piranarew wrote:I was wondering if the items advertised in the link below are possibly real or if it is really a scam
http://www.clearoutclub.com
Anyway, as far as I can tell, you don't actually buy anything directly from them. They give listings of sites that have these products really cheap. As far as the whole get a free iPod, 17" LCD monitor, or 27" Sony Wega TV...it just takes you to FreeiPods.com, where you will still have to complete one of their offers and refer five people.
I don't recommend joining the site.

profman wrote:piranarew wrote:I was wondering if the items advertised in the link below are possibly real or if it is really a scam
http://www.clearoutclub.com
I usually pass when the deal sounds too good to be true like this one. I would only consider such an offer if there was solid, positive feedback on it.
A Google search on this name only gave a few hits (a sure danger sign, I think). A poster an another Internrt Forun states:Anyway, as far as I can tell, you don't actually buy anything directly from them. They give listings of sites that have these products really cheap. As far as the whole get a free iPod, 17" LCD monitor, or 27" Sony Wega TV...it just takes you to FreeiPods.com, where you will still have to complete one of their offers and refer five people.
I don't recommend joining the site.
Another Forum site noted that they take only electronic checks (not credit cards) and ask for your banking routing number on a less than fully secure web page.
or a credit card, or whatever, this website appears to be using a referral ID in the links it gives you, that means this dude is getting tons of free Ipods and TV's and thousands of morons are getting ripped off cause of it.

That's a very good point.Petey wrote:A checking account routing number would let them withdraw anything from your checking account at any time, NEVER give this to ANY company, legitimate or not, even if they don't intentionally steal from you, a mistake on their end could throw off your checkbook balance or send you into an overdraft, and just try getting out of that mess without screwing up your credit rating and having to talk to every uncaring customer service rep at your bank and the company that ripped you off, getting nowhere, just NEVER give out your routing numbers to ANYONE AT ALL.
Now, the freeipod thing is interesting.Petey wrote:Free Ipod offers are legit, the problem is what you have to do to get them, you have to sign your friends up for spam, then do things like sign up for AOHELLor a credit card, or whatever, this website appears to be using a referral ID in the links it gives you, that means this dude is getting tons of free Ipods and TV's and thousands of morons are getting ripped off cause of it.


yes, very unethical.Petey wrote:But what the website this person listed, and quite a few others are doing, is acting like they're the ones giving out the Ipods or TV's or whatever and instead giving you a link to freeipods.com with their own referral ID, I think thats somewhat unethical.

Antony wrote:yes, very unethical.Petey wrote:But what the website this person listed, and quite a few others are doing, is acting like they're the ones giving out the Ipods or TV's or whatever and instead giving you a link to freeipods.com with their own referral ID, I think thats somewhat unethical.
As for GetFirefox affiliated links, well, we don't need those links. We are going to great job on spreading Netscape, Mozilla, Camino, Firefox... etc. Just a bit ironic on the Firefox affiliated thing. How? A huge number of Mozilla (and Firefox in particular) block every type of ads, and they are asking other people to click "affiliated" links. (Ref: Firefox users ignore online ads, report says, C|net News.com)
Spreading the action of downloading legal music is something we need to do.

Using the things they hate to get IE users? Moral?Petey wrote:They're not trying to market Firefox to Firefox users.
They're trying to win over IE users, and IE users are used to seeing and responding to a lot of ads anyway.
Petey wrote:As for legal music, I'm not opposed to it, but I think it needs to be in a more open format, not one where it's one company calling all the shots, MP3's will play on just about anything, but stuff you get from Itunes will only work with Itunes and Ipod, likewise WMA's only work on Windows and players where the company pays a royalty to Microsoft, but at least WMA's can be converted if you wish.
Petey wrote:It just really left a bad taste in my mouth when I saw how proprietary the format was and how you couldn't really do anything with the files you downloaded from them,


Good. So back up the music file you bought from iTunes Music Store, no license files to backup.Petey wrote:I do that with whatever music I buy that is protected, just because I don't feel like having to back up my licenses

3.0 on Windows XP
Petey wrote:I made that mistake with the last Compaq I bought, the motherboard failed and I ended up talking to someone at their support call center that "no speaka de ingles"


piranarew wrote:Petey wrote:I made that mistake with the last Compaq I bought, the motherboard failed and I ended up talking to someone at their support call center that "no speaka de ingles"
I was LOL when I read your statement. I bought a Compaq SR1103WM computer from walmart but when the Plus! Digital Media Edition was not registered when it was supposed to I called Compaq. After three months of calling Compaq and Microsoft, Microsoft gave me the activation key for free.

Registered users: Google [Bot]
| [SillyDog701 home] [Netscape] [download NS] [MozInfo701] [MacCentre701] [Feedback] [Search] [Sitemap] All messages posted in this forum do not necessarily represent SillyDog701. This forum is operated by Antony Shen. All rights reserved. Copyright Notice. Privacy Statement. |