Clearout Club

Our lounge for socialising and for all general topics in good taste. Including all SillyDog701 related issues.

Moderators: Edward, profman, Mandrake

Thanks Google

Postby TheDarnoc » Tue 25 Jan, 2005 9:37 pm

So I did a little search on the clearout site (and it actually caused me to signup on this board) and here's what I got:

The address given in the whois search is now a UPS store
Virtual Technologies in Chicago makes digitized hand motion sensors
The phone number is disconnected
The fax is bunk

Conclusion?

Don't sign up for this service or you will be out mucho dinero... but you already knew that. :)
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; PPC Mac OS X; en) AppleWebKit/125.5.5 (KHTML, like Gecko) Safari/125.12
TheDarnoc
new member
new member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue 25 Jan, 2005 9:30 pm

Postby DumbArseIAm » Wed 09 Mar, 2005 6:55 pm

Look at my name. I actually did sign up for this web site. Thinking it was a legit web site. Guess what, they're not. I was charged the $19.95, and have not recieved a single thing. No e-mail, no free item. Does anyone have any advice on how to get my money back, or am I pretty much screwed.
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.7.5) Gecko/20041107 Firefox/1.0
DumbArseIAm
new member
new member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed 09 Mar, 2005 6:52 pm

Postby Ron Williams » Wed 09 Mar, 2005 9:38 pm

DumbArseIAm wrote:am I pretty much screwed.


Most likely yes
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.7.6) Gecko/20050223 Firefox/1.0.1
User avatar
Ron Williams
BANNED
BANNED
 
Posts: 845
Joined: Tue 25 Nov, 2003 9:47 am
Location: Cambridge, Maryland

SPAM

Postby Gatekeeper » Fri 25 Mar, 2005 8:19 am

Not saying that this was the case but I run numerous forums and when people ask a question like the one asked here initially it is most often an underhanded way of posting the link to the spam website

I could ask, are the offers at spam-website.com genuine or fake
bingo I've placed the link to spam-website.com
and many people would woute my question in their reply duplucating the link to spam-website.com.
UserAgent: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.1; iebar; SV1)
Gatekeeper
new member
new member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri 25 Mar, 2005 8:00 am

Postby Ron Williams » Fri 25 Mar, 2005 3:40 pm

I have no reason to spam for that site and have no reason to. In the past I have set messages in my signature about certain things like trillian and they were removed but asking a question about something that is to good to be true, nothings wrong with that. How would I not mention the site and still ask the question. If I did not say the site then someone would reply with what is the site.
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.7.6) Gecko/20050317 Firefox/1.0.2
User avatar
Ron Williams
BANNED
BANNED
 
Posts: 845
Joined: Tue 25 Nov, 2003 9:47 am
Location: Cambridge, Maryland

clearoutclub, edirectclub.com days numbered

Postby sturdyone » Sat 04 Jun, 2005 6:58 pm

after joining and not receiving any confirmation reply. I found the whois info throught this forum. Their phone is disconnected and they don't answer email.
I checked my bank account that i use for such purchases. They cleared it out and left it in overdraft.(good thing i only keep small amt's in that account.)
I have since reported them to the IFCC. And have reported them to register.com.
Register.com informed me that if this company does not supply them with updated contact information, they will be pulled from the internet.
This (update or termination) will happen within a couple days
UserAgent: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.1; SV1; .NET CLR 1.1.4322)
sturdyone
new member
new member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat 04 Jun, 2005 12:18 pm

Postby Ron Williams » Sat 04 Jun, 2005 8:05 pm

This is great. This prevents more people from signing up for this site because they do not heed earlier warnings. I appologize for anyone who has been ripped off due to this, but I did not ask people to get an account.
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.7.8) Gecko/20050511 Firefox/1.0.4
User avatar
Ron Williams
BANNED
BANNED
 
Posts: 845
Joined: Tue 25 Nov, 2003 9:47 am
Location: Cambridge, Maryland

Previous

Return to SillyDog701 Lounge

Who is online

Registered users: Google [Bot]