How do I capture a screenshot on Windows 7

Microsoft Windows operating system, and software for Windows platform, including QuickTime Player and iTunes for Windows. We also discuss topics about Microsoft Corp.

How do I capture a screenshot on Windows 7

Postby Antony » Thu 19 May, 2011 11:10 am

I have some stupid questions. You guys have to forgive me for being away with Windows for long.

How do I take a screen shot on Windows 7?

And how do I only take the screen shot of the active window only?

Thanks.
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64) AppleWebKit/534.24 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/11.0.696.68 Safari/534.24
User avatar
Antony
diamond member
diamond member
 
Posts: 15250
Joined: Tue 18 Jun, 2002 11:36 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: How do I capture a screenshot on Windows 7

Postby Don_HH2K » Thu 19 May, 2011 4:02 pm

It's the same as in any other version of Windows, just hit Print Screen to put the image on the clipboard, then paste it into some image editor (e.g. Paint). To get just the active window you can use Alt + Print Screen.
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; Win64; x64; rv:6.0a1) Gecko/20110515 Firefox/6.0a1
Laptop: HP Compaq nx6325 - Turion 64 X2 @ 2GHz, 2GB DDR2, 100GB HD, ATI Radeon X300, 15" LCD, Seven Pro
Handheld: Palm Treo 650 - Intel PXA270 @ 312MHz, 10MB RAM, 32MB flash, 2.7" LCD, Palm OS 5.4
User avatar
Don_HH2K
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 5112
Joined: Sun 09 May, 2004 3:59 pm

Re: How do I capture a screenshot on Windows 7

Postby Antony » Thu 19 May, 2011 9:56 pm

Thank you.
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; Intel Mac OS X 10.6; en-US; rv:1.9.2.17) Gecko/20110420 AlexaToolbar/alxf-2.11 Firefox/3.6.17
User avatar
Antony
diamond member
diamond member
 
Posts: 15250
Joined: Tue 18 Jun, 2002 11:36 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: How do I capture a screenshot on Windows 7

Postby richard mitnick » Thu 19 May, 2011 10:22 pm

Some say that the Alt-Printscreen is actually a better image.

>>RSM
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.0; rv:2.0.1) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/4.0.1
User avatar
richard mitnick
diamond member
diamond member
 
Posts: 1531
Joined: Mon 25 Apr, 2005 10:46 am
Location: Highland Park, New Jersey

Re: How do I capture a screenshot on Windows 7

Postby beanboy89 » Fri 20 May, 2011 9:31 pm

richard mitnick wrote:Some say that the Alt-Printscreen is actually a better image.

>>RSM


Alt+PrtScn simply captures the active window as opposed to the entire screen with PrtScn.
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:2.0.1) Gecko/20110511 Firefox/4.0.1 SeaMonkey/2.1
User avatar
beanboy89
diamond member
diamond member
 
Posts: 1729
Joined: Sun 16 May, 2004 8:56 am

Re: How do I capture a screenshot on Windows 7

Postby iJohnE » Sat 21 May, 2011 10:22 pm

You can also use the Snipping Tool under Start>All Program>Accessories>Snipping Tool. It's a lot more convenient than copying to the clip board etc.
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64) AppleWebKit/534.24 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/11.0.696.68 Safari/534.24
"Those who matter don't mind, and those who mind don't matter." - Dr. Seuss.
User of Windows 8.1 Pro, and LMDE.
User avatar
iJohnE
diamond member
diamond member
 
Posts: 1619
Joined: Wed 21 Nov, 2007 2:48 pm
Location: Pulaski, NY, USA

Re: How do I capture a screenshot on Windows 7

Postby richard mitnick » Sun 22 May, 2011 6:32 am

Hey JOhn-

I made a note to try it.

>>RSM
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.0; rv:2.0.1) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/4.0.1
User avatar
richard mitnick
diamond member
diamond member
 
Posts: 1531
Joined: Mon 25 Apr, 2005 10:46 am
Location: Highland Park, New Jersey

Re: How do I capture a screenshot on Windows 7

Postby iJohnE » Sun 22 May, 2011 1:31 pm

richard mitnick wrote:Hey JOhn-

I made a note to try it.

>>RSM


It's quite handy. I don't know if it's available on all versions of 7. But I own Ultimate and have used Pro and it's been on both of those.
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64) AppleWebKit/534.24 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/11.0.696.68 Safari/534.24
"Those who matter don't mind, and those who mind don't matter." - Dr. Seuss.
User of Windows 8.1 Pro, and LMDE.
User avatar
iJohnE
diamond member
diamond member
 
Posts: 1619
Joined: Wed 21 Nov, 2007 2:48 pm
Location: Pulaski, NY, USA

Re: How do I capture a screenshot on Windows 7

Postby morlaine » Wed 12 Oct, 2011 11:51 am

Hi, I have a Toshiba L655 laptop running Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit. I have tried every suggestion I've seen and can't find a way to do a screen print of an active window. I can capture the entire screen by holding down the Windows Function key and hitting the ScrnPrt key. I can then paste that into Paint. But nothing works to just get the active window. Also if I hit just the PrntScrn key without the Function key, the screen goes all the way to the bottom of the page and does not get captured. A similar thing occurs if I hold down the Ctrl key and hit the PrntScrn key. Does anyone have a suggestion? Thanks for your help. Carole (morlaine)
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (compatible; MSIE 9.0; Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; Trident/5.0)
morlaine
new member
new member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed 12 Oct, 2011 10:51 am

Re: How do I capture a screenshot on Windows 7

Postby Don_HH2K » Wed 12 Oct, 2011 3:19 pm

I had a look on Google Images, and your laptop's keyboard has Print Screen on a function key. In your case, you'll need to hold down Alt + Fn + PrintScreen, in that order.
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; Win64; x64; rv:7.0) Gecko/20110929 Firefox/7.0-x64 PaleMoon/7.0-x64
Laptop: HP Compaq nx6325 - Turion 64 X2 @ 2GHz, 2GB DDR2, 100GB HD, ATI Radeon X300, 15" LCD, Seven Pro
Handheld: Palm Treo 650 - Intel PXA270 @ 312MHz, 10MB RAM, 32MB flash, 2.7" LCD, Palm OS 5.4
User avatar
Don_HH2K
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 5112
Joined: Sun 09 May, 2004 3:59 pm

Re: How do I capture a screenshot on Windows 7

Postby morlaine » Wed 12 Oct, 2011 4:49 pm

Wow!!! It worked. I'm tickled pink.

If you would be so kind, where could I find what you looked at in Google just in case I have some other question that might be answered there.
Thanks again, I appreciate your time. Carole Saylor
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (compatible; MSIE 9.0; Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; Trident/5.0)
morlaine
new member
new member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed 12 Oct, 2011 10:51 am

Re: How do I capture a screenshot on Windows 7

Postby Don_HH2K » Wed 12 Oct, 2011 5:53 pm

I searched Google Images for "Toshiba L655" and got a photo from Amazon of what your keyboard layout looks like. I have an HP laptop with the same issue (print screen is a function key), and the Alt-Fn-PrintScreen stroke has always worked for me.
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; Win64; x64; rv:7.0) Gecko/20110929 Firefox/7.0-x64 PaleMoon/7.0-x64
Laptop: HP Compaq nx6325 - Turion 64 X2 @ 2GHz, 2GB DDR2, 100GB HD, ATI Radeon X300, 15" LCD, Seven Pro
Handheld: Palm Treo 650 - Intel PXA270 @ 312MHz, 10MB RAM, 32MB flash, 2.7" LCD, Palm OS 5.4
User avatar
Don_HH2K
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 5112
Joined: Sun 09 May, 2004 3:59 pm

Re: How do I capture a screenshot on Windows 7

Postby morlaine » Wed 12 Oct, 2011 6:05 pm

Oh, I understand. Thank you so much, Carole
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (compatible; MSIE 9.0; Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; Trident/5.0)
morlaine
new member
new member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed 12 Oct, 2011 10:51 am


Return to Windows (and Microsoft talk)

Who is online

Registered users: Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot], Google [Bot]