More fun stuff

Firefox, Thunderbird, SeaMonkey, Camino, Mozilla, Netscape 6/7/8/9, and all Gecko-based browsers discussion and support forum. (MozInfo701, Netscape Browser Archive)

More fun stuff

Postby Fulvio » Thu 03 Mar, 2011 5:25 pm

Thunderbird 3.1.8 and Firefox 3.6.14 are my default programs. I have set up all my programs, installed in different folders, with very different profiles, so I know, exactly, what comes up.
Lately (probably, for the past week), whenever I click on a link in TB3.1.8, Firefox will open, but with the 4.0b12 profile (Help|About Mozilla Firefox tells me that it is 3.6.14). Any idea why?
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9.2.14) Gecko/20110218 Firefox/3.6.14
A minority may be right, and a majority is always wrong.
~ Henrik Ibsen
WinXP, SP3, 512 MB, SM2.26.1, FF31, TB31, IE8.0 Google Chrome 36 , Ghostwall , Avast2014 Pro, also Toshiba Satellite laptop, 4GB, Win 8.1, IE11.
User avatar
Fulvio
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 12087
Joined: Wed 19 Jun, 2002 10:08 am

Re: More fun stuff

Postby Antony » Fri 04 Mar, 2011 3:43 am

Do you have your 4.0b12 profile as the default profile for Firefox?
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; Intel Mac OS X 10.6; en-US; rv:1.9.2.14) Gecko/20110218 AlexaToolbar/alxf-2.0 Firefox/3.6.14
User avatar
Antony
diamond member
diamond member
 
Posts: 15234
Joined: Tue 18 Jun, 2002 11:36 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: More fun stuff

Postby Fulvio » Sat 05 Mar, 2011 6:05 pm

I, never, knew that one could select a profile as default. My default is 3.6.14, and I get to it with the profile switch. Its profile is called Firefox1.0x, for old time sake., while the 4.x's profile is called default1. I removed the "default" profile. So, to get to Firefox3.6.14, I modify the Target line by adding:
-p Firefox1.0x
.
Similarly, I get to 4.x by modifying its shortcut Target line, by adding
-p default1
.
Decided to change my Target to, just,
-p
, which brings up the Profile Manager. For reasons that I don't understand the default1 was highlighted, and the box, not to ask, was checked. That would explain why a link would open the correct browser with the wrong profile. Interestingly, this happens when I upgraded to 3.6.14, although I never did anything to the profile manger.
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9.2.14) Gecko/20110218 Firefox/3.6.14
A minority may be right, and a majority is always wrong.
~ Henrik Ibsen
WinXP, SP3, 512 MB, SM2.26.1, FF31, TB31, IE8.0 Google Chrome 36 , Ghostwall , Avast2014 Pro, also Toshiba Satellite laptop, 4GB, Win 8.1, IE11.
User avatar
Fulvio
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 12087
Joined: Wed 19 Jun, 2002 10:08 am


Return to Firefox, SeaMonkey and Netscape

Who is online

Registered users: Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot], Exabot [Bot], Yahoo [Bot]