Network Driver for Presario 6000

For all tech/computer related or even internet related discussions not covered in other sections. Also iPad, iPhone, iPod, Surface and multimedia discussions.

Network Driver for Presario 6000

Postby iJohnE » Tue 01 Jul, 2008 12:33 pm

I had to reinstall Windows XP on my Compaw Presario 6000. However, the Network drivers were not installed, and I have no connection to the internet. I have searcehd the internet, using a Live CD of Kubuntu which will allow me to connect, but I cannot find the drivers, and the ones I did find, didn't work. I really appreciate any help, and this is a problem I need to fix ASAP!





Thanks,
John
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (compatible; Konqueror/3.5; Linux) KHTML/3.5.9 (like Gecko) (Kubuntu)
"Those who matter don't mind, and those who mind don't matter." - Dr. Seuss.
User of Windows 8.1 Pro, and LMDE.
User avatar
iJohnE
diamond member
diamond member
 
Posts: 1609
Joined: Wed 21 Nov, 2007 2:48 pm
Location: Pulaski, NY, USA

Postby iJohnE » Tue 01 Jul, 2008 1:23 pm

I found the driver here: http://www.bios-drivers.com/drivers/237/237720.htm.
There, now for anyone else who may need this, it's there.
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (X11; U; Linux i686; en-US; rv:1.9b5) Gecko/2008041514 Firefox/3.0b5
"Those who matter don't mind, and those who mind don't matter." - Dr. Seuss.
User of Windows 8.1 Pro, and LMDE.
User avatar
iJohnE
diamond member
diamond member
 
Posts: 1609
Joined: Wed 21 Nov, 2007 2:48 pm
Location: Pulaski, NY, USA

Postby PaulD » Tue 01 Jul, 2008 3:10 pm

Another possible source is http://www.driverguide.com/. Registration, free, is required. I used them some years ago for something, don't recall what. I haven't checked for this specific Presario item.
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9) Gecko/2008052906 Firefox/3.0
PaulD
diamond member
diamond member
 
Posts: 908
Joined: Mon 14 Aug, 2006 5:52 pm

Postby Edward » Wed 02 Jul, 2008 8:34 pm

Remove the ending period next to "htm" above and the link will work. However, the page is for an nVIDIA driver (which is video), not for a network card driver.
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (X11; U; Linux i686; en-US; rv:1.8.1.15) Gecko/20080620 SeaMonkey/1.1.10
SillyDog701 Moderator
debian - SeaMonkey - Claws Mail
User avatar
Edward
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3790
Joined: Sun 01 Dec, 2002 7:15 pm

Postby Don_HH2K » Wed 02 Jul, 2008 8:49 pm

Edward, that actually seems to be an nForce southbridge driver. In laptops and highly integrated motherboards, the southbridge usually drives the onboard Ethernet controller, among other things.
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.2 x64; en-US; rv:1.9) Gecko/2008062415 Minefield/3.0 (mmoy CE K8Q-X05)
Laptop: HP Compaq nx6325 - Turion 64 X2 @ 2GHz, 2GB DDR2, 100GB HD, ATI Radeon X300, 15" LCD, Seven Pro
Handheld: Palm Treo 650 - Intel PXA270 @ 312MHz, 10MB RAM, 32MB flash, 2.7" LCD, Palm OS 5.4
User avatar
Don_HH2K
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 5112
Joined: Sun 09 May, 2004 3:59 pm

Postby iJohnE » Wed 02 Jul, 2008 9:40 pm

nVidia has a line of nForce Ethernet cards. Most Compaqs built within the last 5 years use these.
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9) Gecko/2008052906 Firefox/3.0
"Those who matter don't mind, and those who mind don't matter." - Dr. Seuss.
User of Windows 8.1 Pro, and LMDE.
User avatar
iJohnE
diamond member
diamond member
 
Posts: 1609
Joined: Wed 21 Nov, 2007 2:48 pm
Location: Pulaski, NY, USA

Re: Network Driver for Presario 6000

Postby rnearl » Sun 15 May, 2011 9:52 am

you will find the driver download here. it works.
http://downloadcenter.intel.com/Detail_ ... 8&lang=eng
UserAgent: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 8.0; Windows NT 5.1; Trident/4.0; GTB5; .NET CLR 2.0.50727; .NET4.0C)
rnearl
new member
new member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun 15 May, 2011 9:48 am


Return to General Computing, Gadgets and Tech

Who is online

Registered users: Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot], Google [Bot]