New wireless networking equipment?

This section is for any issues on setting up or configuring networks at home and small business.

New wireless networking equipment?

Postby beanboy89 » Sun 05 Mar, 2006 1:06 pm

First off, I have to say I'm no expert at networking, in fact, I know little about it. So here's my question:

Currently, I have a PC, running Windows XP Home, connected to the internet with a Netgear WG111v2 USB wifi (802.11b) adapter. My router is a Linksys WRT54G.

The current setup works, but the Netgear USB adapter just doesn't seem to be cutting it; the firmware is marginal, and seems to make my PC unstable if it is truned on for a long preiod of time. So, I want to replace the Netgear USB adapter with somthing better, but since I'm no networking expert, I don't know need.

I don't want to deal with another USB device, so I'm looking for a wireless device that connects through my computer's ethernet card. I want it to be affordable, probably under $100 USD, and maybe the ability to add other computers or possbile game consoles in the future. Is there any such wireless device I can use?

Thanks.

For reference, I've ceated a diagram of what I want to do.

UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8.0.1) Gecko/20060130 SeaMonkey/1.0
beanboy89
diamond member
diamond member

Postby Don_HH2K » Sun 05 Mar, 2006 5:03 pm

The only wireless devices that I've ever seen which output a standard Ethernet signal are those designed for Xbox game consoles. They're self-managed, so no software is required on the computer in question to control it. The downside is that you won't be able to hook one of these up to a hub, and then connect that hub to your computer and other Ethernet-ready devices.