NS 7.1 system (GDI) resource drainage in Win98

Firefox, Thunderbird, SeaMonkey, Camino, Mozilla, Netscape 6/7/8/9, and all Gecko-based browsers discussion and support forum. (MozInfo701, Netscape Browser Archive)

Postby Ramona » Mon 25 Aug, 2003 7:06 pm

Update:

According to the latest comments on Bug #204374
------- Additional Comment #278 From Stephen Donner 2003-08-17 18:26 -------

_Please_, people, we don't need anymore 'Me too! This is fixed for me!' comments spamming this bug.

We know it's temporarily fixed on all of the platforms (the workaround to not optimize images is in), but a long-term solution is in the works and doesn't need anymore comments until we land the final fix.

Thanks

It appears that the nightly builds from 8/10 to current date do have the temporary fix. I have used the 8/19 and 8/22 builds, and I did not have to edit or add the memCache setting, and this was running with my usual 14 tabs. I do find the 8/19 building to be more stable than the 8/22 build. With the 8/19 build, available resources remained in the mid 60%....

FWIW

Ramona :mrgreen:
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Win98; en-US; rv:1.4) Gecko/20030624 Netscape/7.1 (CK-SillyDog)
User avatar
Ramona
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 2377
Joined: Wed 19 Jun, 2002 3:50 pm
Location: Midwest USA

Postby profman » Mon 25 Aug, 2003 8:04 pm

Many may already know this, but MozillaZine points to the minutes of the mozilla.org staff meeting of Monday 18th August 2003. These minutes say, in part,:

*1.5 beta update*

- One bug outstanding (GDI issue)
- After release, about two more weeks on the trunk
- Branch for final with 5-12 bugs left.
- Not scheduled to branch until August 29th.

*1.4 branch (1.4.1)*

- 1.4's focus is the fix for Windows installer crashes, and the GDI
leaks.
- Windows installer crashes are fixed on the branch.
- GDI thing fixed, maybe - still looking into this.
- We've also taken other fixes meantime.


So it looks like both the 1.4 and 1.5 branch of the Mozilla Suite will get a GDI fix.
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.0; en-US; rv:1.0.2) Gecko/20030208 Netscape/7.02 (CK-profman)
profman, the mad chemist
Moderator of SillyDog Forums
User of Thunderbird & Firefox
Try Forum Search
User avatar
profman
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1537
Joined: Wed 11 Sep, 2002 8:00 pm

Postby Mandrake » Mon 25 Aug, 2003 8:18 pm

So people *should* upgrade from Netscape 7.1, to Mozilla 1.4.1 or Mozilla 1.5 (when they are released).
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.0; en-US; rv:1.1a) Gecko/20020611
Core i7 920 | ASUS P6T Deluxe v2 | 3TB+ HDD | 12GB Corsair DDR3 | Radeon 4890 Xfire | X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty | Logitech Z-5500 Speakers | Dell 3008WFP | Seven RC1
User avatar
Mandrake
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 4279
Joined: Fri 13 Sep, 2002 6:35 am

Postby Ramona » Mon 25 Aug, 2003 8:22 pm

Thanks profman! I do forget to read those minutes, and they usually have good information for the end user. This is where I usually look:
http://www.mozilla.org/status/

Since the GDI issue is of a serious nature, I'm hoping that Netscape will address this issue with an upgrade. A girl can wish, right? :wink:

Just one more comment: why in the world I used the word "Drainage" in the Topic, instead of Leak is beyond me! I become nauseated every time I see the Topic, as it brings to mind a sinus problem, or worse..... What was I thinking? :roll: Must have been one of those "Senior Moments" or worse!!

Ramona :mrgreen:
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Win98; en-US; rv:1.4) Gecko/20030624 Netscape/7.1 (CK-SillyDog)
User avatar
Ramona
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 2377
Joined: Wed 19 Jun, 2002 3:50 pm
Location: Midwest USA

Postby Fulvio » Mon 25 Aug, 2003 11:01 pm

Mandrake wrote:So people *should* upgrade from Netscape 7.1, to Mozilla 1.4.1 or Mozilla 1.5 (when they are released).


Just try to do it, if all works well with NS7.1, and you are left with two choices. One to remove NS and do the complete cleanup, because of that dumb GRE. The other one, which is more fun is split the Registry.dat into a Mozilla and a Netscape variety. Actually, there is a third one, as long as .zip downloads exist, working from the unzipped file.
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Win98; en-US; rv:1.4) Gecko/20030624 Netscape/7.1 (ax) (CK-SillyDog)
A minority may be right, and a majority is always wrong.
~ Henrik Ibsen
WinXP, SP3, 512 MB, SM2.30, FF33, TB31.2, IE8.0 Ghostwall , Avast2014 Pro, also Toshiba Satellite laptop, 4GB, Win 8.1, IE11, Google Chrome 38
User avatar
Fulvio
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 12101
Joined: Wed 19 Jun, 2002 10:08 am

Postby profman » Tue 26 Aug, 2003 12:15 am

Mandrake wrote:So people *should* upgrade from Netscape 7.1, to Mozilla 1.4.1 or Mozilla 1.5 (when they are released).


People *should* base their decision whether to *cross over* to Mozilla on the facts. It should be possible to switch to Mozilla from Netscape if you do a Clean Install. An uninstall of NS 7.1 should also delete the old Netscape 7.1 GRE. You should then be able to install Mozilla and use the old Netscape profile, although I would back up the old NS profile, just in case. [I could be wrong here, so use the pain reliver of your choice before attempting.] I believe that I have read on the newsgroups that this is possible. This transition might also be a one-way trip.

It is still quite possible that Netscape will release an update to Netscape 7.1 based on Mozilla 1.4.1.
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.0; en-US; rv:1.0.2) Gecko/20030208 Netscape/7.02 (CK-profman)
profman, the mad chemist
Moderator of SillyDog Forums
User of Thunderbird & Firefox
Try Forum Search
User avatar
profman
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1537
Joined: Wed 11 Sep, 2002 8:00 pm

Postby Mandrake » Tue 26 Aug, 2003 3:18 am

With *what* browser team? I suppose that a few of the AOL folks could do it easily enough.
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.0; en-US; rv:1.4) Gecko/20030624
Core i7 920 | ASUS P6T Deluxe v2 | 3TB+ HDD | 12GB Corsair DDR3 | Radeon 4890 Xfire | X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty | Logitech Z-5500 Speakers | Dell 3008WFP | Seven RC1
User avatar
Mandrake
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 4279
Joined: Fri 13 Sep, 2002 6:35 am

Postby Wellander » Fri 10 Oct, 2003 8:30 am

Hi,
Humm.
I am running Netscapoe 7.1 in Windows 98 Second Edition and I can not find what you all are talking about.
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Win98; en-US; rv:1.4) Gecko/20030624 Netscape/7.1 (ax)
Wellander
diamond member
diamond member
 
Posts: 2603
Joined: Mon 21 Oct, 2002 6:37 pm

Postby Antony » Fri 10 Oct, 2003 8:46 am

Wellander wrote:Hi,
Humm.
I am running Netscapoe 7.1 in Windows 98 Second Edition and I can not find what you all are talking about.
Please re-read the first post, and surf for a while.
otherwise, you are lucky.
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; PPC Mac OS X Mach-O; en-US; rv:1.6a) Gecko/20030925 Camino/0.7+
User avatar
Antony
diamond member
diamond member
 
Posts: 15274
Joined: Tue 18 Jun, 2002 11:36 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Postby Wellander » Fri 10 Oct, 2003 2:34 pm

Antony wrote:
Wellander wrote:Hi,
Humm.
I am running Netscapoe 7.1 in Windows 98 Second Edition and I can not find what you all are talking about.
Please re-read the first post, and surf for a while.
otherwise, you are lucky.


Hi,
I did re-read the first post and I have been surfing for a very long time about four hours and I still can not see or find what yo all are talking about.
Sorry But I am not having that problem sorry for those who are though.
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Win98; en-US; rv:1.4) Gecko/20030624 Netscape/7.1 (ax)
Wellander
diamond member
diamond member
 
Posts: 2603
Joined: Mon 21 Oct, 2002 6:37 pm

Postby Josh » Sat 11 Oct, 2003 3:03 pm

Doesn't 1.4.1 or any of the 1.5 releases fix this bug?
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; PPC Mac OS X Mach-O; en-US; rv:1.4.1) Gecko/20031008
Josh
SD701 Moderator
User of Safari 4.0.3 on :tiger:
User avatar
Josh
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 696
Joined: Fri 21 Jun, 2002 11:04 am

Postby Ramona » Sat 11 Oct, 2003 3:16 pm

Hi Josh,

Yes, both Releases have addressed the Resource Leak issue, 1.4.1 Final and 1.5b, RC1, RC2, and 1.5 Final ( when released).

Ramona :D
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Win98; en-US; rv:1.5) Gecko/20030925
User avatar
Ramona
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 2377
Joined: Wed 19 Jun, 2002 3:50 pm
Location: Midwest USA

Postby profman » Sat 25 Oct, 2003 10:19 pm

Some info over in the netscape.mozilla.user.win32 newsgroup about the resolution of this resource leak in Mozilla 1.4.1 and 1.5.

On 25.10.03 09:58, SBC wrote:

--- Original Message ---



>> I posted this over on the NS page, but for those sitting the fence on
>> whether to stay with NS 7.1, or with moving on to 1.5, now's the time to
>> upgrade. It's probably germane to the 1.4/1.5 upgrade issue as well.
>>
>> "Obviously, the 1mb option is best for 7.1, but after loading and using
>> Mozilla's 1.5 final with my Win98SE I have to recommend moving on to
>> Mozilla. I run Cacheman and have it set to show the free GDI resources.
>> In 7.1, even with the 1mb cache setting I routinely dropped to the
>> mid-upper 40's from my normal 57-59 free while running only the browser
>> or the email program and it stayed there until I closed NS. But with
>> Moz 1.5 there has been no repeat no drop at all. I changed my cache
>> setting to 50mb awhile ago and right now I have both the browser and
>> email up and running and it's purring along nicely at 56-57. Also, as I
>> change web pages it's releasing resources as it goes, e.g. drops to 56
>> for a few moments and then back to 57.
>>
>> Bottom line, if you have the resource issue with NS 7.1, I can
>> wholeheartedly recommend moving on up to Moz 1.5. Best of luck to all.
>>
>> http://www.mozilla.org/ "
>>


NS 7.1 is based on Mozilla 1.4 and both share the same resource leak
problem/bug. Mozilla 1.4.1 fixed it. If you like 7.1 then move to 1.4.1
but you'll lose any features proprietary to 7.1 such as IMAP web mail,
AIM, etc ...


-- Jay Garcia Netscape Champion - Mozilla Champion UFAQ - http://www.UFAQ.org Mozilla Champions - http://mozillachampions.mozdev.org Posting Guidelines - http://mozillachampions.mozdev.org/guidelines.html
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Win98; en-US; rv:1.5) Gecko/20031007
profman, the mad chemist
Moderator of SillyDog Forums
User of Thunderbird & Firefox
Try Forum Search
User avatar
profman
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1537
Joined: Wed 11 Sep, 2002 8:00 pm

Re: NS 7.1 system resource drainage in Win98

Postby cmed25 » Sun 09 Nov, 2003 8:53 pm

Ramona wrote:I finally had to throw in the towel using Netscape 7.1. It consistently drains my resources to below 15%, and I simply cannot use the application! :cry:

Stability:
06/28/03 Installed
IPF errors in JS3250.DLL twice , with one MSVCRT.DLL triggered by clicking on Mail Icon, both Desktop Icon, and Mail Icon in Browser
06/29/03 - Same errors
06/30/03 - same errors on startup

Serious resource drain. With only 7.1 + Mail active, two TSR's (NAV and ZA) Resources can drop to 7 - 9% available Happens consistently! I thought it might have been my 14 tabs in the tab group that I use. However, I experience the same problems without the tabs...

I tried this workaround, which was in Bug 204374:

Workaround:
Mozilla bug #204374
Edit the prefs.js file to add the following script:
user_pref("browser.cache.memory.capacity", 4096);

I strongly recommend creating a new Profile for Netscape 7.1. Users are reporting problems with Mail, if using the existing 7.x Profile. I also experienced this problem. Only after creating a unique Profile for 7.1 could I use Mail & Newsgroups...

I am open to suggestion, recommendations, tips, and anything else you might have in your Netscape hat!

Ramona :mrgreen:
Well gosh, I'm really confused now with all the information I received from my question. My computer seems to work well. My mail program seems to be ok. I like 7.1 better than netscape 4.79 which I still have in my computer but not that much better if my rescources continue to drain. Should I remove 7.1? Will that improve my rescources? Is the 41% free a big problem for me? I had been online for about two hours. Thanks for any advice you can offer. I could be very happy with 4.79 if that would help clear up this problem.


Edited by Admin, subject changed from I Can't Run Netscape 7.1!
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Win 9x 4.90; en-US; rv:1.4) Gecko/20030624 Netscape/7.1 (ax)
cmed25
member
member
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue 03 Sep, 2002 9:56 am

Postby Ramona » Mon 10 Nov, 2003 4:04 am

cmed25,

If you don't see appreciable loss of resources, then you'll be fine with Netscape 7.1. You'll have to give it more than two hours though, in order to assess whether or not there is a loss.

If you do have problems, then try Mozilla 1.4.1 which uses the same source code as Netscape 7.1, or Mozilla 1.5. The resource leak has been addressed in both of the browsers. The two Mozilla browsers are very stable, and I believe you will be pleased with either version's performance.

Here are the Release Notes:
Mozilla 1.4.1 Release Notes
Mozilla 1.5 Release Notes

Ramona :mrgreen:
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Win98; en-US; rv:1.5) Gecko/20031007
User avatar
Ramona
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 2377
Joined: Wed 19 Jun, 2002 3:50 pm
Location: Midwest USA

PreviousNext

Return to Firefox, SeaMonkey and Netscape

Who is online

Registered users: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Majestic-12 [Bot], Yahoo [Bot]