The fastest laptop to run Vista?

Microsoft Windows operating system, and software for Windows platform, including QuickTime Player and iTunes for Windows. We also discuss topics about Microsoft Corp.

The fastest laptop to run Vista?

Postby Antony » Thu 01 Nov, 2007 9:56 pm

Image

According to PC World, the fastest laptop to run Microsoft Windows Vista is Apple MacBook Pro. That's right, a Mac that runs both Mac OS X and Windows natively.

PC World also tested other laptops, the MacBook Pro beats offerings from Dell, Toshiba, and Alienware.

Need a fast laptop to run Windows Vista?
Visit Image
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; Intel Mac OS X; en-US; rv:1.8.1.9) Gecko/20071025 Firefox/2.0.0.9
User avatar
Antony
diamond member
diamond member
 
Posts: 15298
Joined: Tue 18 Jun, 2002 11:36 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Postby Edward » Fri 09 Nov, 2007 8:34 pm

My ThinkPad has an Intel Pentium M CPU at 1.86 GHz, which should run Vista fine.

But I have no interest in running Vista. :)
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (X11; U; Linux i686; en-US; rv:1.8.1.10pre) Gecko/20071107 SeaMonkey/1.1.7pre
SillyDog701 Moderator
debian - SeaMonkey
User avatar
Edward
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3816
Joined: Sun 01 Dec, 2002 7:15 pm

Postby iJohnE » Thu 29 Nov, 2007 6:53 pm

it does not surprise me by any means that the fastes computer able to run Vista is a Mac. They are usaully the best for most things.
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.0; en-US; rv:1.8.1.9) Gecko/20071025 Firefox/2.0.0.9
"Those who matter don't mind, and those who mind don't matter." - Dr. Seuss.
User of Windows 8.1 Pro, and LMDE.
User avatar
iJohnE
diamond member
diamond member
 
Posts: 1624
Joined: Wed 21 Nov, 2007 2:48 pm
Location: Pulaski, NY, USA

Postby Antony » Tue 04 Dec, 2007 1:57 am

Apple is running an ad regarding PC World's print... the fastest laptop to run Windows Vista is a Mac, not a PC.

Image

You can watch it here (under "Misprint"). Available in small, medium, large and HD sizes.
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; Intel Mac OS X; en-US; rv:1.8.1.11) Gecko/20071127 Firefox/2.0.0.11
User avatar
Antony
diamond member
diamond member
 
Posts: 15298
Joined: Tue 18 Jun, 2002 11:36 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Postby richard mitnick » Mon 10 Dec, 2007 2:36 pm

From what I have seen, while this was accurate, it was short lived.

But it does burn my britches, I recently bought two Dell Vista machines, Core 2 Duo, 2 gig DDR2 DRAM, 633 FSB.

If I bought right now, it would be a quad core, DDR3 DRAM, and a 1333 FSB.

No way to keep up.

>>RSM
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.0; en-US; rv:1.8.1.11pre) Gecko/20071206 Firefox/2.0.0.11 Navigator/9.0.0.5 general.useragent.extra.netscape
User avatar
richard mitnick
diamond member
diamond member
 
Posts: 1531
Joined: Mon 25 Apr, 2005 10:46 am
Location: Highland Park, New Jersey

Postby professorpty » Mon 17 Dec, 2007 7:42 am

I would not run Vista, on any machine, even if Microsoft was giving away copies of it for free.
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (X11; U; Linux x86_64; en-US; rv:1.8.1.10) Gecko/20071213 Fedora/2.0.0.10-3.fc8 Firefox/2.0.0.10
professorpty
izanbardprince
izanbardprince
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon 17 Dec, 2007 7:06 am

Postby iJohnE » Mon 17 Dec, 2007 10:01 am

Well, it just proves that Apple is slowly but surely becoming Microsoft's number one competitor.

However, I feel bad for the one idiot in the world who installs Vista on a Mac and connects it to the internet without protection from all the harm and ends us screwing up their system.
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.0; en-US; rv:1.8.1.11) Gecko/20071127 Firefox/2.0.0.11
Last edited by iJohnE on Mon 17 Dec, 2007 10:04 am, edited 1 time in total.
"Those who matter don't mind, and those who mind don't matter." - Dr. Seuss.
User of Windows 8.1 Pro, and LMDE.
User avatar
iJohnE
diamond member
diamond member
 
Posts: 1624
Joined: Wed 21 Nov, 2007 2:48 pm
Location: Pulaski, NY, USA

Postby richard mitnick » Mon 17 Dec, 2007 11:01 am

professorpty-

I have had zero problems with Vista Home Premium or Vista Business. Ran all my apps but one, and all of my peripherals which date from WinME.

The one app, Total Recorder, an mp3 recorder, the problem is not Vista it is the builder, High Criteria. I replaced it very happily with Freecorder.

>>RSM
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.0; en-US; rv:1.8.1.11) Gecko/20071127 Firefox/2.0.0.11
User avatar
richard mitnick
diamond member
diamond member
 
Posts: 1531
Joined: Mon 25 Apr, 2005 10:46 am
Location: Highland Park, New Jersey

Postby Don_HH2K » Mon 17 Dec, 2007 11:59 am

professorpty wrote:I would not run Vista, on any machine, even if Microsoft was giving away copies of it for free.


Well, they gave me a free copy and I installed it, but that's only because I was using a trial copy of Windows to begin with.
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.0 x64; en-US; rv:1.8.1.11) Gecko/20071203 BonEcho/2.0.0.11 (mmoy CE K8C-X04)
Laptop: HP Compaq nx6325 - Turion 64 X2 @ 2GHz, 2GB DDR2, 100GB HD, ATI Radeon X300, 15" LCD, Seven Pro
Handheld: Palm Treo 650 - Intel PXA270 @ 312MHz, 10MB RAM, 32MB flash, 2.7" LCD, Palm OS 5.4
User avatar
Don_HH2K
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 5112
Joined: Sun 09 May, 2004 3:59 pm


Return to Windows (and Microsoft talk)

Who is online

Registered users: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Majestic-12 [Bot], Yahoo [Bot]