setting up a local network and sharing a printer

This section is for any issues on setting up or configuring networks at home and small business.

setting up a local network and sharing a printer

Postby STUMPOFWAR » Sun 06 Mar, 2005 8:46 pm

I coach a high school debate team and we travel around alot and work out of hotel rooms and other temporary locations quite a bit. So here my deal.....

I would like to set up local wireless network between our various computers. I would like to share files and I would like to make our team laser printer available to each laptop. Sometimes our hotels/schools offer broadband so I'd like to have that available on the created locl network as well.

I figure I need a wireless router.....but beyond that I'm clueless. I'm willing to buy the needed hardware to get this done. I'm a teacher so it's a tax write-off but suggestions on economically friendly alternatives would be appreciated.

Also, My team is mixed computer wise......about 50/50 PC & Mac. I have both personally. So please let me know of any issues that we may have.

Any and all help would be appreciated

Thank you.
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; PPC Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/85.8.5 (KHTML, like Gecko) Safari/85.8.1
STUMPOFWAR

Postby STUMPOFWAR » Fri 11 Mar, 2005 8:29 am

bump......
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; PPC Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/85.8.5 (KHTML, like Gecko) Safari/85.8.1
STUMPOFWAR

Postby Ron Williams » Fri 11 Mar, 2005 11:30 am

Well, I am not sure that this will work but you could always look for a printer with a network port and connect it to a router. Though this may work I am not sure if the mac's have TCP/IP.
UserAgent: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.1; SV1)
Ron Williams
BANNED
BANNED

Postby STUMPOFWAR » Fri 11 Mar, 2005 12:46 pm