upgrading Seamonkey

Firefox, Thunderbird, SeaMonkey, Camino, Mozilla, Netscape 6/7/8/9, and all Gecko-based browsers discussion and support forum. (MozInfo701, Netscape Browser Archive)

upgrading Seamonkey

Postby LARRYB » Sat 25 Feb, 2012 10:17 pm

I have been using SM for several years now and think I want to upgrade. I am running V1.1.18. When V2.x came out I tried to upgrade and found that my bookmarks and email address did not transfer over automaticly. I posted my issues and was told several different ways to import, add, and transfer my files to V 2.X. I was dissapointed that it was such a hassle that I gave up and kept using V1.1.18.

I am starting to get some issues with the older version of SM when browsing. I think the newer version will help, but have been holding off due to the issue of bookmarks and email lists getting transfered over easily.

My question is: Can i upgrade from V1.1.18 to V2.7? Will the transfer include all my bookmarks, email files and settings?

Please advise.... :?


Larry
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8.1.23) Gecko/20090825 SeaMonkey/1.1.18
LARRYB
senior member
senior member
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue 30 Dec, 2003 5:41 pm

Re: upgrading Seamonkey

Postby Amrad » Sun 26 Feb, 2012 12:30 am

Hello Larry,

LARRYB wrote:My question is: Can i upgrade from V1.1.18 to V2.7? Will the transfer include all my bookmarks, email files and settings?

It should, but given your previous problems, you may find that it doesn't. Make a backup of your existing profile and try installing SeaMonkey 2.7.2 and see what happens, you can always uninstall it and go back to version 1.1.18 if you have to. There shouldn't be any need to uninstall that version first, you can do that after you have 2.7.2 up and running properly.

Regards,

Dave.
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 5.1; rv:10.0.2) Gecko/20120216 Firefox/10.0.2 SeaMonkey/2.7.2
Amrad
silver member
silver member
 
Posts: 339
Joined: Fri 01 Aug, 2003 11:38 pm

Re: upgrading Seamonkey

Postby LARRYB » Sun 04 Mar, 2012 7:35 pm

Well this really sucks now.

Ok, I installed sm 2.7, went to open it and it told me I already had a version of SM running, please close. I checked with the task manager and SM was NOT running.

I then rebooted my computer and tried again, same error.

I then went to remove SM1.8 from the control panel SM 2.7 was the only version on my HD.

I then found SM 2.7 on my hard drive tried to launch and same error again.

I then wnet and removed V 2.7, reinstalled version 1.8 and now I'm back where I was before. SM 1.8 is working.

Anything I am missing????

Chrome, Firefox, :redmoz: , :ie:

Larry
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8.1.23) Gecko/20090825 SeaMonkey/1.1.18
LARRYB
senior member
senior member
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue 30 Dec, 2003 5:41 pm

Re: upgrading Seamonkey

Postby Fulvio » Mon 05 Mar, 2012 2:14 pm

Not sure why. Maybe because you waiting so long to move from v.1.x to 2.x. Reading the Release Notes.I see that you should be asked to migrate your data, because the profile location differs in the two versions.
In another place I saw that it was suggested to download and install v. 2.0, which should ask for migration, followed by uninstalling of that version, and installing of 2.7.x. The fact is that your 1.x profile is of the old .slt format, while 2.x is like that of Firefox, i.e. xxx111.default, and located ( in WinXP, at least) is this path: C:\Documents and Settings\name\Application Data\Mozilla\SeaMonkey . Your 1.x is in this path: C:\Documents and Settings\name\Application Data\Mozilla\Profiles.
I have Profiles in both locations. The first one for 2.x, the second for 1.x.
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 5.1) AppleWebKit/535.11 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/17.0.963.65 Safari/535.11
A minority may be right, and a majority is always wrong.
~ Henrik Ibsen
WinXP, SP3, 512 MB, SM2.30, FF33, TB31.2, IE8.0 Ghostwall , Avast2014 Pro, also Toshiba Satellite laptop, 4GB, Win 8.1, IE11, Google Chrome 38
User avatar
Fulvio
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 12101
Joined: Wed 19 Jun, 2002 10:08 am

Re: upgrading Seamonkey

Postby LARRYB » Mon 05 Mar, 2012 4:17 pm

I tried installing V2.0.3, thinking that jumping from 1.1.18 to 2.7 was going to cause a issue.

The funny thing was during the install process I never got a screen showing me the progress or asking what files to bring over. Just the screen showing "custom", "recommended" install

After installing V2.03 I still got the error message that swa monkey was running and needed to be closed even after I removed SM V1.1.18 from my hard drive.

Luckly I am still able to reinstall V1.1.18 and get my data back.

I noticed a version V1.1.19, I think I will try this version and if sucessful, try jumping to V2.0

Larry
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8.1.23) Gecko/20090825 SeaMonkey/1.1.18
LARRYB
senior member
senior member
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue 30 Dec, 2003 5:41 pm

Re: upgrading Seamonkey

Postby cciaffone » Sun 11 Mar, 2012 5:04 pm

So I am once again reinstalling 2.0.11.

Why??

Because every time I install a later version (just installed and
quickly uninstalled 2.7.2), all my bookmarks are GONE.

Why is that??

Why does 2.0.11 give me my bookmarks, while most anything
more recent does not????
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.16) Gecko/20101123 SeaMonkey/2.0.11
cciaffone
member
member
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri 21 Jul, 2006 11:33 am

Re: upgrading Seamonkey

Postby LARRYB » Sun 11 Mar, 2012 5:20 pm

I had the same problem about 3 yrs ago when I tried going to V2.X.

I was told that you need to import your booKmarks and address's into the newer versions.

I tried doing it and just couldnt get it right.

Larry
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8.1.23) Gecko/20090825 SeaMonkey/1.1.18
LARRYB
senior member
senior member
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue 30 Dec, 2003 5:41 pm

Re: upgrading Seamonkey

Postby LARRYB » Sat 17 Mar, 2012 1:07 pm

Fulvio

"I have Profiles in both locations. The first one for 2.x, the second for 1.x."

Are you saying you have both versions installed on your system?

I have tried everything I can think of trying to get V2.7 to run. It keeps telling me that I have sea monkey running and need to shut it down before V2.x will run.
I have tried the following:
1. remove V1.x using windows XP remove software function.
2. restarted computer with V2.7, get error msg
3. remove both versions of SM, reboot install V2.x, get error msg
4. Tried a older version of SM, V2.0.1, got error msg
5. did steps 1,2,3,4. tried install V2.0, still got error msg.

Went into drive C:, went to where SM is installed, noticed a folder called crash reports. Opened folder and noticed 4 files. Some dated last week when I tried to install V2.7.

I think I will try one more time. I am going to rename the Mozilla folder to MozillaA.

Maybe this will let V2.7 think it is going on a first time install since it will have to create the folders.

I gotta do something because more and more websites will not display properly on V1.X

Larry
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8.1.23) Gecko/20090825 SeaMonkey/1.1.18
LARRYB
senior member
senior member
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue 30 Dec, 2003 5:41 pm

Re: upgrading Seamonkey

Postby Amrad » Sat 17 Mar, 2012 2:15 pm

Hello Larry,

LARRYB wrote:I have tried everything I can think of trying to get V2.7 to run. It keeps telling me that I have sea monkey running and need to shut it down before V2.x will run.

It may be that SeaMonkey didn't shut down properly on some occasion. If that happens, a file called 'parent.lock' is created, which prevents another instance of SeaMonkey from running.

With SeaMonkey closed, locate the SeaMonkey 1.x profile, you should find it here:

C:\Documents & Settings\<Your Windows User Name>\Application Data\Mozilla\Profiles\default\xxxxxxxx.slt

Where 'xxxxxxxx' is a random eight-character string.

The file 'parent.lock', if present, should be in the folder 'xxxxxxxx.slt', if it is delete it. You should then find that you will no longer get the message that SeaMonkey is still running and you should be able to run SeaMonkey 2.7. Note that SeaMonkey 2.8 is now available, so I would suggest installing that, rather than v2.7.

I hope that helps.

Regards,

Dave.
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 5.1; rv:11.0) Gecko/20120312 Firefox/11.0 SeaMonkey/2.8
Amrad
silver member
silver member
 
Posts: 339
Joined: Fri 01 Aug, 2003 11:38 pm

Re: upgrading Seamonkey

Postby LARRYB » Sat 17 Mar, 2012 3:04 pm

Thanks for the advice. I followed your instructions and here is what I found.

In the default folder I find the folder your talking about (XXXXXXXX.SLT). If I open the folder i can see a bunch of files. I did notice the file parent.lock.

However it only appears when SM is running. If I close SM and go into the folder the parent.lock file is not there. I only shows up when SM is running. I cannot delete the file because it is being used by a application (SM ).

Is there some where else I should look. I didnt see it in the netscape profile folder either.

Larry
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8.1.23) Gecko/20090825 SeaMonkey/1.1.18
LARRYB
senior member
senior member
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue 30 Dec, 2003 5:41 pm

Re: upgrading Seamonkey

Postby Amrad » Sat 17 Mar, 2012 3:18 pm

Hello Larry,

LARRYB wrote:Thanks for the advice.

You're welcome.

In the default folder I find the folder your talking about (XXXXXXXX.SLT). If I open the folder i can see a bunch of files. I did notice the file parent.lock.

However it only appears when SM is running. If I close SM and go into the folder the parent.lock file is not there. I only shows up when SM is running. I cannot delete the file because it is being used by a application (SM ).

That's a pity, because it means that isn't the cause of the problem. That file would have to be present when SeaMonkey is closed for it to have that effect. I can't think of anything else to account for the message that SM is already running when you try to start SM 2.7.

There is one other thing that you could check. In SM 1.x, there is 'Quick Launch' (aka Turbo mode), if that is enabled, it usually tries to force SM 1.x to start, when trying to start SM 2.x, it might possibly be the cause of the problem. If it is enabled, there will be a SM icon in the systray (aka Notification Area) at the right hand end of the task bar. If there is such an icon, right-click on it and disable it. That option has been removed from SM 2.

Regards,

Dave.
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 5.1; rv:11.0) Gecko/20120312 Firefox/11.0 SeaMonkey/2.8
Amrad
silver member
silver member
 
Posts: 339
Joined: Fri 01 Aug, 2003 11:38 pm

Re: upgrading Seamonkey

Postby LARRYB » Sat 17 Mar, 2012 3:59 pm

I think I'll try renaming the Mozilla folder. My thinking is that way SM V2.x wont see it and then have to recreate it and all the other files.

If I get the already running error again, I will give up.

Larry
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8.1.23) Gecko/20090825 SeaMonkey/1.1.18
LARRYB
senior member
senior member
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue 30 Dec, 2003 5:41 pm

Re: upgrading Seamonkey

Postby LARRYB » Sat 17 Mar, 2012 4:29 pm

OK, I renamed SM V1.x mozilla folder.

Installed SM2.7. SM came up and started running. Of course none of my history, email, bookmarks, account setting came over. I was asked to import files from firefox (only option).

Now with both programs installed on my system, I thought I could just simply copy and paste my bookmarks file from V1.x to V2.x.

That did seem to work. I got the feeling I may not get them to transfer over because I changed the SMV1.x mozilla folders name and SM V2.x wont know where to go.

SM v2.x did create a new mozilla folder, so going back and renameing the SMV1.x mozilla folder back to mozilla wont cut it. I'll have 2 folders named the same.

Since SMV1.x and V2.x are stored in different folders after the mozilla folder, I wonder if I could cut and paste the V1.x folders into the V2.x folders?

There is got to be a way to get this done.

Larry
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8.1.23) Gecko/20090825 SeaMonkey/1.1.18
LARRYB
senior member
senior member
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue 30 Dec, 2003 5:41 pm

Re: upgrading Seamonkey

Postby Fulvio » Sat 17 Mar, 2012 5:59 pm

I tried to post, but something happened, as I can't see the post.
Something is very wrong, because the path for the 2.x profile should be:C:\Documents and Settings\yourname\Application Data\Mozilla\SeaMonkey\Profiles
I, no longer have 1.x, but I am not sure where its profile should be
I will try to reinstall 1.x, and see what happens. In view of the problems you have, I may regret it, but I am challanged. And, indeed to answer your previous question, I had both versions. I uninstalled 1.x a couple of months ago. The vital thing is to give the profiles different names, and access each with its own profile.
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 5.1) AppleWebKit/535.7 (KHTML, like Gecko) RockMelt/0.16.91.345 Chrome/16.0.912.77 Safari/535.7
A minority may be right, and a majority is always wrong.
~ Henrik Ibsen
WinXP, SP3, 512 MB, SM2.30, FF33, TB31.2, IE8.0 Ghostwall , Avast2014 Pro, also Toshiba Satellite laptop, 4GB, Win 8.1, IE11, Google Chrome 38
User avatar
Fulvio
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 12101
Joined: Wed 19 Jun, 2002 10:08 am

Re: upgrading Seamonkey

Postby LARRYB » Sat 17 Mar, 2012 6:23 pm

I really havent give up yet my self.

I do have a question for you. Are the email, email address, bookmarks the same kind of file for both V1.x and V2.x. ?

My thinking is to just copy those files from V1.x to V2.x. I was able to get V2.x to install after I renamed V1.x Mozilla folder.

That was I was able to have both versions on my hard drive.

Larry
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8.1.23) Gecko/20090825 SeaMonkey/1.1.18
LARRYB
senior member
senior member
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue 30 Dec, 2003 5:41 pm

Next

Return to Firefox, SeaMonkey and Netscape

Who is online

Registered users: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Yahoo [Bot]