Yahoo Toolbar Problems

Firefox, Thunderbird, SeaMonkey, Camino, Mozilla, Netscape 6/7/8/9, and all Gecko-based browsers discussion and support forum. (MozInfo701, Netscape Browser Archive)

Yahoo Toolbar Problems

Postby humpd » Fri 18 Mar, 2011 11:45 pm

Anyone having any problems with Yahoo toolbar and Firefox. Suddenly, in both my wife's profile and mine, the Yahoo toolbar no longer works. I have uninstalled it and re-installed it with no luck. I have done some reading of some posts at other sites indicating that this is not necessarily a unique problem but I was hoping someone has a solution to the problem. I do like the toolbar feature and would like to use it again but so far cannot.
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.2.15) Gecko/20110303 Firefox/3.6.15 ( .NET CLR 3.5.30729; .NET4.0C)
Windows 7, Norton Internet Security, Malwarebytes, Spywareblaster for my desktop and Avast for the laptop, user of Chrome and Firefox 9.01.
humpd
diamond member
diamond member
 
Posts: 778
Joined: Thu 25 Jul, 2002 9:37 am
Location: Cleveland, Ohio

Re: Yahoo Toolbar Problems

Postby Fulvio » Sat 19 Mar, 2011 10:52 am

I have a real argument with the Yahoo Toolbar, because almost any software will try to sneak it in, and, if not careful, the home page and search engine is changed. But, I decided to try it downloading it from: http://toolbar.yahoo.com/?.intl=us&.vert=v8
I have WinXP, but, otherwise I have the same browser. Are you reinstalling the correct version? Try like I did, and make sure that it is removed, first, from the Addon list.
I will remove it, now, but it is working fine.
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9.2.15) Gecko/20110303 Firefox/3.6.15
A minority may be right, and a majority is always wrong.
~ Henrik Ibsen
WinXP, SP3, 512 MB, SM2.30, FF33, TB31.2, IE8.0 Ghostwall , Avast2014 Pro, also Toshiba Satellite laptop, 4GB, Win 8.1, IE11, Google Chrome 38
User avatar
Fulvio
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 12097
Joined: Wed 19 Jun, 2002 10:08 am

Re: Yahoo Toolbar Problems

Postby James » Sat 19 Mar, 2011 12:32 pm

Try using the free uninstaller program from Revo to remove the older version before re-installing. It uses the program's uninstaller and then searches for left-behind files as well. You can find Revo's uninstaller here:

http://www.revouninstaller.com/revo_uni ... nload.html

ps: I use the freeware version.
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; rv:2.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/4.0
James
User avatar
James
diamond member
diamond member
 
Posts: 3179
Joined: Sat 13 Jul, 2002 12:10 am

Re: Yahoo Toolbar Problems

Postby humpd » Sun 20 Mar, 2011 11:58 am

I tried uninstalling, using Revo uninstaller to get rid of anything with "Yahoo" in the name and tried a reinstall. It still did not work so I uninstalled it again and I will not try another reinstall. Based upon the comments here as well as other sites regarding the Yahoo toolbar, it seems like it creates more trouble than it is worth. Thanks for the comments.
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.2.15) Gecko/20110303 Firefox/3.6.15 ( .NET CLR 3.5.30729; .NET4.0C)
Windows 7, Norton Internet Security, Malwarebytes, Spywareblaster for my desktop and Avast for the laptop, user of Chrome and Firefox 9.01.
humpd
diamond member
diamond member
 
Posts: 778
Joined: Thu 25 Jul, 2002 9:37 am
Location: Cleveland, Ohio

Re: Yahoo Toolbar Problems

Postby Fulvio » Sun 20 Mar, 2011 1:30 pm

Did you try to do it like I suggested? As I said, I had installed the toolbar, and, after seeing that it was ok, having been careful not to allow any changes, I removed it from 3.6.15, using the addon which has an uninstall feature.
I can't think of any reason why Revo should be used. I did not have anything left.
But, the Yahoo Toolbar has been unnecessary. It had a lot of junk which I can get elsewhere ala carte.
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 5.1; rv:2.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/4.0
A minority may be right, and a majority is always wrong.
~ Henrik Ibsen
WinXP, SP3, 512 MB, SM2.30, FF33, TB31.2, IE8.0 Ghostwall , Avast2014 Pro, also Toshiba Satellite laptop, 4GB, Win 8.1, IE11, Google Chrome 38
User avatar
Fulvio
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 12097
Joined: Wed 19 Jun, 2002 10:08 am

Re: Yahoo Toolbar Problems

Postby James » Sun 20 Mar, 2011 1:43 pm

humpd wrote: Based upon the comments here as well as other sites regarding the Yahoo toolbar, it seems like it creates more trouble than it is worth. Thanks for the comments.


Frankly, I've think you've made a wise decision. These "tool bars" can be troublesome and given the help that search engines (i.e. Bing, Google) provide today, they're entirely unnecessary. Good luck.
UserAgent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; rv:2.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/4.0
James
User avatar
James
diamond member
diamond member
 
Posts: 3179
Joined: Sat 13 Jul, 2002 12:10 am


Return to Firefox, SeaMonkey and Netscape

Who is online

Registered users: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Yahoo [Bot]